Loading... Please wait...

Our Newsletter

The Thing (2-LP Set)

  • Image 1
32.00 Ounces
Calculated at checkout

Product Description

Notefornote Music is proud to announce the first ever LP release of the new recording for the 1982 horror classic, THE THING - MUSIC FROM THE MOTION PICTURE, featuring music composed by Ennio Morricone. For this new recording, the music has been produced and arranged by Alan Howarth and Larry Hopkins.

Prior to THE THING, director John Carpenter had gained a reputation as a director who also composed the music for his own films and had begun collaborating with sound designer and fellow composer Alan Howarth on the music for his films. With the enormous success of HALLOWEEN and ESCAPE FROM NEW YORK, he found himself working for Universal on his first big studio film. Working with a larger budget at his disposal, Carpenter was able to hire one of his musical idols to score the film. The movie's final soundtrack, though, would be a combination of both Morricone and Carpenter's sensibilities. Characteristically, Morricone did not compose his score to picture. He composed many pieces of music inspired by the film he'd watched and by the directions he'd received from Carpenter. The music would be edited to fit the film as Carpenter wanted. During the post-production process, Carpenter decided he needed more music for the film and worked with collaborator Alan Howarth to produce some additional electronic music.

The original 1982 soundtrack release for THE THING featured Ennio Morricone's score for the film, including a wealth of music that ultimately did not get used in the film. For this new release of music from THE THING, the music has been produced and arranged by Alan Howarth and Larry Hopkins, to include newly recorded renderings of the Morricone music (including recreations of the tracks not used in the film) and Howarth has also provided new performances of the music he produced for the film with John Carpenter, making their premiere appearance on this album. The music is presented in a sequence closer to film order.

Track List:

Side One:

1. Main Title (1:45)
2. Main Theme - Desolation (4:29)
3. Humanity 2 (2:42)
4. Despair (4:46)

Side Two:

1. Humanity (6:51)
2. Shape (3:18)
3. Burn It (1:27)
4. Solitude (5:32)

Side Three:

1. Fuchs (2:27)
2. To Mac's Shack (2:52)
3. Wait (6:21)
4. Sterilization (3:42)

Side Four:

1. Eternity (5:26)
2. Contamination (1:01)
3. Bestiality (2:55)
4. Main Theme - End Credit (4:34)

Total Time: 60:45

Write your own product review

Product Reviews

This product hasn't received any reviews yet. Be the first to review this product!

Add to Wish List

Click the button below to add the The Thing (2-LP Set) to your wish list.

You Recently Viewed...